Were you or a loved one charged with a DUI in Virginia? Check out the types of DUI offenses in this article, then give our lawyers a call.
First Time DWI Offense
If you’ve been charged with a DUI or DWI in Virginia, you want to make sure that you contact an experience DUI or DWI attorney right away. The main reason being is because even if it’s your first offense, you are still going to be facing extreme consequences. A DUI or DWI is a class one misdemeanor. That means that it carries up to a year in jail, a $2,500 fine, as well as a 12-month loss of your license and a permanent criminal record. There are other punishments that go along with this such as increased insurance rates. You would have a DUI in your record for the rest of your life. It could affect your employment. The list goes on and on. You want to make sure that you have someone on your side who can help minimize those consequences.
Now, a lot of people ask, “Am I going to go to jail for a first offense DUI?” That question depends on the facts and circumstances but there are actually circumstances where there’s mandatory jail time if you are found guilty of a DUI. If it’s a second offense or if your blood alcohol level is extremely high, you may be facing mandatory jail time. You’re going to want to talk to somebody right away who can help you understand the process, who can help you fight to make sure that you get the result that you deserve.
Second DWI Offense
If you’re charged with a second DUI in Virginia, the penalties become more severe. A second DUI in Virginia is a class one misdemeanor, which carries with it up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine just like a DUI first. Now, the differences are with the mandatory jail time. There’s mandatory jail time attached to a DUI second. If it’s a second within ten years, there’s a mandatory additional ten days in jail. If it’s a second within five years, there’s a mandatory 20 days in jail. Not to mention the fact that courts are more inclined to issue additional jail time when a person has gotten a second offense because they feel as if that person has not “learned a lesson”. As a result, you want to make sure that you want to reach out to an experienced attorney who can help your DUI second charges to make sure that you are getting the best representation possible and so that you are doing your right thing for yourself and your family.
Third DWI Offense
If you’ve been charged with a third DUI or DWI in Virginia, the penalties start to increase from that of a second or a first. A third DUI is actually a class six felony, which means that it carries up to five years in jail. Additionally, there’s mandatory jail time that goes along with it as well. If it’s your third offense within ten years, there is a mandatory 90 days in jail. If it’s your third offense within five years, there’s a mandatory six months in jail. Along with that there’s also a mandatory fine of $1,000 and an indefinite loss of your privilege to drive. Now, obviously, you want to do whatever you possibly can to try to avoid these consequences from being levied upon you, therefore you’re going to need an experienced DUI or DWI lawyer in your corner if you’ve received a DUI or DWI third charge. Please reach out to us as quickly as possible so that we can see what we can do to help you with your DUI or DWI third charge.
Were you or a loved one arrested for a DUI and you have questions about the types of DUI offenses? Contact our experienced Virginia DWI lawyers today for a free consultation and case evaluation.
Like us on Facebook