Marijuana Possession Charges in Virginia

Marijuana Possession Charges in VirginiaBecause some studies suggest that marijuana is not that dangerous, or because some people think it is not much different than alcohol, it has recently developed a reputation of being “no big deal.” And since Colorado, Washington, Alaska, Oregon, and even our neighbors in the District of Columbia have passed legislation legalizing its recreational use, some people incorrectly assume that all states also have a relaxed view of the drug. However, those who possess marijuana in Virginia, and get caught by the police quickly learn the startling reality.  In Virginia, possession of marijuana can result in jail time, loss of your privilege to drive in Virginia, and fines.  For those with a history of possession charges and guilty verdicts, marijuana possession can translate into a loss of freedom and an expensive problem.

In Virginia, prosecutors have the burden of proving that the defendant knowingly possessed the drug.  Those charged with marijuana possession even without any prior drug possession charges face up to 30 days in jail, a $500 fine, and a 6 month loss of their privilege to drive in Virginia.  Being in jail for up to 30 days and losing your driver’s license can result in one losing his or her job and having a permanent criminal record.

A second marijuana possession conviction becomes a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia and can result in up to 1 year in jail, and a $2,500 fine.  Given that most Virginians have a lot to lose by being found guilty of marijuana possession, it is important that they seek the legal counsel from a skilled and knowledgeable attorney.

The attorneys at NovaLegalGroup are very experienced in cases involving marijuana possession, and they are committed to working tirelessly to defend their clients’ rights as well as protecting them so that they do not do any jail time and come out of their experience with NO permanent criminal record with the FBI or Homeland Security. If you’ve been charged with marijuana possession, or any other drug-related crime, such as selling, manufacturing, or trafficking, contact NovaLegalGroup today to schedule a free consultation with an attorney who is ready to build your defense.

Recent Posts

WHEN SHOULD YOU FILE A DOG BITE LAWSUIT?

Dog bites can range from minor inconveniences to debilitating injuries resulting in scarring, disfigurement, costly medical bills, and lost wages.  If you are a dog bite victim wondering whether to pursue legal action against the owner of…

CAN I SUE FOR A SLIP AND FALL ACCIDENT?

Personal injury attorneys handle many different types of accidents.  Slip and fall cases are among the most common. This probably wouldn’t surprise many people, as it can seem like there’s an ad for a slip and fall attorney during…

SHOULD I HIRE A CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY?

The short answer is, YES! Regardless of the offense, being charged with a crime can be a serious, life-changing event. Severe penalties handed down by the court can be just the beginning. Facing criminal charges frequently affects personal…

STEPS TO TAKE AFTER AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT

There are few experiences that are as scary and stressful as being in an automobile accident. One second, you’re driving along peacefully in your car, and the next second you’re jolted into survival mode as you try to understand what…

HOW DO I KNOW IF I HAVE A PERSONAL INJURY CASE?

Unexpected injuries can be devastating to your finances and quality of life. It’s many people’s worst nightmare: the hospital bills, missing work, requiring assistance for every day activities.   Where someone’s negligence…

DON’T BE A VICTIM… FIGHT BACK!

If you’ve been the unfortunate victim of someone else’s negligence, whether it be a car accident, slip and fall, or defective product, you’re probably upset and frustrated with whoever was responsible for your injury—and…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.