Reckless Driving and Lewd Language: What is too far?

  • otmseo,
  •   Uncategorized
  •   Comments Off on Reckless Driving and Lewd Language: What is too far?

Did you know?

Lewd_Language_NovaLegalGroup Under Va. Code § 18.2-427, the use of obscene, vulgar, profane, lewd, lascivious or indecent language or making of any suggestion or proposal of an obscene nature, or threaten any illegal or immoral act with the intent to coerce, intimidate or harass any person, over any phone or any citizens broad band radio, In Virginia is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries maximum penalties of up to one year in jail, up to $2,500 fine and a mandatory Permanent Criminal Record for life!

Recently, the Virginia Supreme Court upheld a conviction under this statute, in which a husband had just ended his adulterous affair and found himself in the position of having to explain his affair to his wife, after his scorned ex-lover blew the whistle on him.  Very upset with the situation, the husband left the following very unfortunate message on his ex-lover’s voicemail:

“Hey, Bitch, you wonder why you don’t have any friends? Bitch! I’m going to fuck you in the worst fucking way…You understand me?”

And in another voice message said:

“Hope you’re having a good time with this shit. And what’s going to happen is not going to be pretty… “

So, remember the next time you are on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram or your phone any threatening and profane words can and will be held against you in a court of law.

The attorneys at NovaLegalGroup, P.C. have over 30 years of experience in successfully handling thousands of Reckless Driving charges, as well as thousands of other criminal and criminal traffic charges.  Contact us today for a Free Case Evaluation!  Remember, “DON’T BE A VICTIM…FIGHT BACK!”

Myth: Reckless Driving is just a “traffic infraction”

Reality: When people get a “ticket” for Reckless Driving they often think it’s just a routine “speeding ticket” that they can pay and make it go away.  IT IS NOT!  

reckless_driving_NovaLegalGroup

Reckless Driving charges in Virginia are NOT traffic infractions like a “speeding ticket”, but rather are serious Class 1 misdemeanors, punishable by: up to one year in jail; a $2,500 fine; a six month loss of license; six (6) negative demerit points on your DMV Driving Record; a likely significant increase in your insurance premiums; and worse than all this, A PERMANENT CRIMINAL RECORD FOR LIFE!  

While there are 17 different types of Reckless Driving charges in Virginia (Yes! 17 types, e.g. Passing a Stopped School Bus; Crossing a Double Yellow Line, etc.), most people receive Reckless Driving charges by driving 20 miles, or more, over the posted limit; or, by driving faster than 80 mph anywhere in Virginia.  This means that you can be charged for Reckless Driving and have a Permanent Class 1 Criminal Misdemeanor for the rest of your life, even if you are only going 75 mph in a 55 mph zone or 81 in a 70 mph zone.  

Just as with regular speeding, you can easily lose track of how fast you are going, especially on a highway, only to be shocked back into reality by seeing the flashing lights of a police cruiser in your rearview mirror.  It will be even more shocking when you finally find out you are facing jail, loss of license, a high fine and a PERMANENT CRIMINAL RECORD for life!  

The attorneys at NovaLegalGroup, P.C. have over 30 years of experience in successfully handling thousands of Reckless Driving charges, as well as thousands of other criminal and criminal traffic charges.  Contact us today for a Free Case Evaluation!  Remember, “DON’T BE A VICTIM…FIGHT BACK!”

Comments are closed for this post.